$\S11.8$ Power Series

Definition

More generally, a power series is

$$\sum_{n=0}^{\infty} c_n x^n = c_0 + c_1 x + c_2 x^2 + c_3 x^3 + \cdots$$

where $c_n \in \mathbb{R}$ are constant numbers called coefficients and x is a variable.

A power series may converge for some $x \in \mathbb{R}$ of and diverge for some other $x \in \mathbb{R}$.

Definition

More generally, a power series centered at a is

$$\sum_{n=0}^{\infty} c_n (x-a)^n = c_0 + c_1 (x-a) + c_2 (x-a)^2 + c_3 (x-a)^3 + \cdots$$

Theorem

For a power series $\sum_{n=0}^{\infty} c_n (x-a)^n$, there are only 3 possibilities:

- (1) The series converges only when x = a
- (2) The series converges for all x.

(3) There is a number R > 0 such that the series converges when |x - a| < R and diverges when |x - a| > R.

The number R in case (3) is called the **radius of convergence** of the power series.

The set of all x for which series converges is called the **interval of convergence**.